AS/A Level | Fountain International School

AS/A Level

Cambridge International AS and A Levels are internationally-benchmarked qualifications providing preparation for university education. A levels are usually sat by 16- to 18- year-olds from 160 countries around the world.

The subject content of each A Level syllabus has been subdivided into two parts: the AS (Advanced Subsidiary Level) syllabus content, which is expected to be covered in the first half of the course, and Part 2 of the syllabus, commonly referred to as A2.

The Advanced Subsidiary (AS) Level represents the first half of a full A Level course and offers students a great way to study a broader range of subjects without committing to doing a full A Level course.

At FIS, AS and A Level courses are taught in Grades 11 and 12.


The Advanced (A) Level is one of the most recognised and prestigious qualifications around the world. It has been accepted as proof of academic ability for entry to universities and institutes of higher education for over 50 years.

  • Cambridge International AS and A Level qualifications are recognised by universities as equivalent in value to UK AS and A Levels
  • Good grades at AS and A Level can result in one full year of advanced standing or credit at universities in the USA and Canada
  • It is accepted as an entry qualification by universities of the European Union, on a par with the French Baccalaureate, the German Abitur, etc
  • Good AS and A Level grades are vital for admission to all the world’s major English-speaking universities and many non-English-speaking universities
  • AS and A Levels are rigorous programmes that encourage high academic standards
  • AS and A Levels have a high profile amongst English-medium international schools around the world.
  • 450 US universities recognise Cambridge International AS and A Levels
  • 425 of those institutions award academic credit for Cambridge International AS and A
  • 49 of the top 50 US universities recognise Cambridge International AS and A Levels, (rankings sourced from

Assessment System: 

Examination sessions occur twice a year, in June and November. AS Level runs from Grade A and Grade E.  A Level runs from Grade A* and Grade E.

An A Level would count as a double-credit qualification and an AS Level as a full (single) credit course within the Cambridge AICE award framework. To be considered for an AICE Diploma, a student must earn the equivalent of six credits by passing a combination of examinations at either the full (1 credit) AS Level or double (2 credits) A Level, with at least one course from each of the three curriculum areas.

Cambridge International AS and A Levels use a wide range of assessment processes and techniques to supplement formal written examinations; orals, practicals, projects and coursework of differing types are all used in various subjects where they are the most effective and appropriate means of measuring attainment.

 Assessment options:

  • Take all A Level components in the same examination session at the end of the course of study, usually the end of the second year (Grade 12)
  • Follow a staged assessment to A Level by taking the Advanced Subsidiary qualification in one examination session, and the final part of assessment in a subsequent session
  • Take the AS Level only

Cambridge International AS and A Level

Fountain International school offers the following subjects for A/AS Level courses:

English, Mathematics and at least one of the Science subjects are compulsory. Students can choose either the A or AS program of the other subjects according to AICE standards.

Please wait while the page is loading. . .